I want to
apply for IDAL’s incentives
know if I qualify for IDAL’s incentives
know what are the steps to open a business
know what are the licenses and permits needed to open a business
know more about Investment Opportunities in Lebanon
operate in Lebanon
export from Lebanon
access Global ICT Bids
Bekaa Governorate

Area Size: 1,433 Km2
Population: 519,607 (2016)
Districts: West Bekaa, Rashaya, Zahleh
Administrative Center: Zahleh
Number of municipalities: 87
Number of Projects that benefited from IDAL’s incentives: 5
Unemployment rate: 6% (2011)

 

LOCATION AND TOPOGRAPHY:

 

The governorate has an altitude ranging between 800 to 1100 meters above sea level. It is covered in main agricultural areas and natural areas with few mixed rural areas. Lying on a plain between two mountain ranges, Mount Lebanon to the west and the AntiLebanon to the east, the Bekaa has an overall Mediterranean climate with a more arid tendency in the north. It is crossed by two rivers journeying in the opposite direction, the Orontes (Al Asi) to the north and the Litani to the south which includes Lebanon’s largest dam, the Qaraoun river, with a capacity of 220 million cubic meters of water. The governorate also includes Lebanon’s largest wetland in Ammiq.

 

MAIN ECONOMIC ACTIVITY:


  • Agriculture: The region’s economy relies largely on agricultural production,. The governorate’s permanent agricultural land covers an area of 165,660 Dounum, 31% of which is dedicated to the plantation of raisins, followed by stone fruits (28.4%) and olives (20.9%) [1].
  • Industry: There are 323 industrial companies in the Bekaa, accounting for 8% of total industrial firms in Lebanon [2]. 43.02% of those firms operate in the agro-food sector [3]. Industrial activity is concentrated in Zahle, which accounts for 278 industrial companies [4].


COMPETITIVE ADVANTAGES:


  • 10 universities and 5 technical /vocational schools.
  • The region has one of the best soil quality in Lebanon, making it one of the major agricultural intensive regions in the country.
  • Research Centers:
    • Lebanese Agriculture Research Institute (LARI): a governmental organization under Minister of Agriculture that conducts applied and basic scientific research for the development and advancement of the agricultural sector in Lebanon. It has 3 research centers located in the Bekaa.
    • Advancing Research and Enhancing Communities (AREC): Center of the American University of Beirut which offers experimental learning programs in addition to a research center.
    • Beirut Arab University Research Center for Environment & Development: covers a breadth of research areas and interests, including integrated management of natural resources, renewable energy, and solid waste management.
    • The Food Quality Center FQC, is an entity within the Chamber of Commerce, Industry and Agriculture of Zahle and the Bekaa. It serves the agro-food industry sector in quality assurance and food safety, as well as microbiological , physico-chemical and toxins testing for all areas of agro food industries.
  • 7 big investments have already been undertaken in the industrial and agro food sectors, totaling more than USD 113.4 million, creating more than 694 direct jobs, and 3260 indirect jobs.
  • Availability of Ryak Airport which could serve as a main export gateway once operational.


INVESTMENT OPPORTUNTIES:


  • Agriculture: The two rivers and fertile land make of the Bekaa an agricultural cluster which attracts investors through low supply prices of agricultural products, proximity that reduces transactions costs, and expertise from the local agricultural manpower.
  • Agro-Food: the presence of vast agricultural land has boosted the agro-food sector in the Governorate, which is home to 30% of the total number of agro-industrial companies in Lebanon, the second highest rate after Mount Lebanon.
    • Dairy Products: the governorate is home to more than 75% of Lebanon’s cows, 45% of goats and 35% of sheep, producing 188 tons of milk a day. There are approximately 150 creameries in the governorate with a predominance of small traditional dairy operations.
    • Wine Production: Geographic, climatic, demographic and economic characteristics of the Bekaa play a key role in the development of wine production in this region. The Bekaa valley encompasses 50% of Lebanese wineries which produce 7.700.000 bottles.
    • Fruit Preserves, and Pickled Products: More than 90% of permanent agricultural land is used for the production of olives, raisins, and seed and stone fruits. The governorate offers many advantages such as low labor cost, ample availability of water, and proximity to plantations.
      (75cl) per year equivalent to 74% of the global Lebanese production of 10.500.000 bottles per year [5]. Many wineries have succeeded in creating a vertically integrated business with vineyards and wine cellars as well as distribution companies locally and abroad. 
  • Eco-Tourism: The natural landscape and the presence of Lebanon’s largest wetland in Ammiq, an important flyways for birds and other wildlife, provides important opportunities for eco-tourism development. The villages of Zahlé, Machgara, Niha, Anjar, Qab Elias, Kfar Zabad, Chtaura, and Furzul are the area's main tourism destinations.


[1] Ministry of Agriculture, 2010. Latest Available data.
[2] Companies with more than 8 employees - Directory of Exports and Industrial Firms 2015-2016
[3] Companies with more than 8 employees - Directory of Exports and Industrial Firms 2015-2016
[4] Companies with more than 8 employees - Directory of Exports and Industrial Firms 2015-2016
[5] Wine Industry in the Bekaa Valley, Lebanon Food-Processing Industry as a Basis For Community Dynamics and Local Socio-Economic Development, 2013

WEST BEKAA DISTRICT

Area Size: 470 Km2
Population:  129,540 (2016)
Administrative Center: Joub Jannine
Number of Municipalities: 31

Get in Touch
Lazarieh Tower, 4th Floor, Emir Bechir Street, Riad El-Solh Beirut, Lebanon, P.O.Box 113-7251
Phone
+961 1 983306 / 7 / 8
Fax
+961 1 983302 /3
INVESTMENT OPPORTUNITIES IN WEST BEKAA 2017
REGIONAL MAP - BEKAA (French)

أريد أن
أتقدم بطلب من أجل الاستفادة من حوافز "ايدال"
اتأكد من أن مشروعي يوافي المعايير المطلوبة لنيل الحوافز
أعرف ما هي الخطوات التي يجب اتخاذها من أجل تأسيس مشروع
أعرف ما هي التراخيص والإجازات المطلوبة لتأسيس مشروع
أطلع على الفرص الاستثمارية المتوافرة في لبنان
التصدير من لبنان
لمحة عن لبنان
محافظة البقاع

مساحة المنطقة: 1,433 كم2
عدد السكان: 519,607 نسمة (بحسب إحصاء العام 2016)
الأقضية: البقاع الغربي وراشيا وزحلة
المركز الإداري: زحلة
عدد البلديات: 87
عدد المشاريع المستفيدة من حوافز إيدال: 5
معدل البطالة: 6% (بحسب إحصاء العام 2011)

 

الموقع والجغرافيا:

يتراوح ارتفاع محافظة البقاع بين 800 و1100 متر فوق سطح البحر. وهي مغطاة بالمناطق الزراعية الرئيسية والمناطق الطبيعية مع عدد قليل من المناطق الريفية المختلطة. يمتدّ سهل البقاع بين سلسلة جبل لبنان غربًا وسلسلة جبال لبنان الغربية شرقًا، ويتميز بمناخ متوسطي يميل إلى الجفاف في الشمال. يعبر سهل البقاع نهران يجريان في الاتجاه المعاكس، نهر العاصي (الأورنطس) شمالاً ونهر الليطاني جنوبًا. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن نهر الليطاني يضم أكبر سدٍّ في لبنان، وهو نهر القرعون بسعة 220 مليون متر مكعّب من المياه. كما تحتوي المحافظة أيضًا في عميق على أكبر مساحة من الأراضي الرطبة في لبنان.

 

النشاط الاقتصادي الرئيسي:

  • الزراعة: يعتمد اقتصاد المنطقة إلى حدٍّ كبير على الإنتاج الزراعي. وتغطي الأراضي الزراعية الدائمة في المحافظة مساحة 165,660 دونمًا، وهي مخصصة بنسبة 31% منها لزراعة العنب، تليها الفاكهة ذات النواة (28.4%) والزيتون (20.9%) [1].
  • الصناعة: ثمة 323 شركة صناعية في البقاع، وهي تمثل 8% من مجموع الشركات الصناعية في لبنان [2]. وتعمل هذه الشركات بنسبة 43.02% في قطاع الصناعات الغذائية [3]. أما النشاط الصناعي فيتركز في زحلة التي تضم 278 شركة صناعية [4].

  

الميزات التنافسية:

  •  وجود 10 جامعات و5 مدارس مهنية.
  •  تتميز المنطقة بأفضل نوعية تربة في لبنان، مما يجعلها إحدى أهم المناطق المخصصة للزراعة المكثفة في البلد.
  • مراكز الأبحاث:
    • مصلحة الأبحاث العلمية الزراعية (LARI): وهي منظمة حكومية تحت إشراف وزارة الزراعة. تُجري الأبحاث العلمية والتطبيقية الأساسية لتطوير القطاع الزراعي والنهوض به في لبنان. ولديها 3 مراكز أبحاث في البقاع.
    • مركز تطوير  الأبحاث  وتمكين  المجتمعات (AREC) وهو مركز تابع للجامعة الأميركية في بيروت يقدّم البرامج التعليمية التجريبية ويضم مركزًا للأبحاث.
    • مركز أبحاث البيئة والتنمية التابع لجامعة بيروت العربية: يغطي مجموعة واسعة من مجالات واهتمامات البحث، بما في ذلك الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد الطبيعية والطاقة المتجددة وإدارة النفايات الصلبة.
    • مركز جودة الغذاء (FQC) هو هيئة تابعة لغرفة التجارة والصناعة والزراعة في زحلة والبقاع. يؤمن خدمات ضمان الجودة وسلامة الغذاء في مجال الصناعات الغذائية، بالإضافة إلى الاختبارات الميكروبيولوجية والفيزيائية – الكيميائية واختبارات السموم لكل مجالات الصناعات الغذائية.
  • تمت المباشرة بـ7 مشاريع استثمارية كبيرة، في القطاع الصناعي وقطاع الصناعات الغذائية، تخطّت قيمتها الـ113.4 مليون دولار، فساهمت في تأمين 694 فرصة عمل مباشرة و3260 فرصة عمل غير مباشرة.
  •  وجود مطار الرياق الذي يمكن أن يشكّل بوابة رئيسية للتصدير عند تشغيله.

 

الفرص الاستثمارية:

  • الزراعة: إن وجود نهرين وأراضٍ خصبة بالإضافة إلى انخفاض أسعار إمدادات المنتجات الزراعية والخبرة التي تتمتع بها القوى العاملة المحلية وقرب المسافة الذي يخفف من تكاليف الصفقات، كلها عوامل تجعل من البقاع مجموعة زراعية تستقطب المستثمرين.
  • الصناعات الغذائية: إن توافر المساحات الزراعية الكبيرة عززت قطاع الصناعات الغذائية في المحافظة التي تضم 30% من العدد الإجمالي لشركات الصناعات الغذائية في لبنان، وهي ثاني أعلى نسبة بعد محافظة جبل لبنان.
    • منتجات الألبان: تشمل البقاع أكثر من 75% من الأبقار في لبنان و45% من الماعز و35% من الخراف، ليصل إنتاج الحليب إلى 188 طنًّا يوميًّا. ثمة حوالى 150 مصنعًا للألبان في هذه المحافظة، وهي بمعظمها صغيرة الحجم وتعتمد الطريقة التقليدية في الإنتاج.
    • إنتاج النبيذ: تؤدي البقاع دورًا رئيسيًّا في تطوير إنتاج النبيذ في هذه المنطقة بفضل الخصائص الجغرافية والمناخية والديمغرافية والاقتصادية التي تتميز بها. ويشمل سهل البقاع 50% من مصانع النبيذ اللبنانية التي تنتج 7.700.000 زجاجة.
    • الفاكهة المحفوظة والمنتجات المخللة: تُستخدم أكثر من 90% من الأرض الزراعية الدائمة لإنتاج الزيتون والعنب والبذور والفاكهة ذات النواة. وتقدّم المحافظة العديد من الميزات، مثل انخفاض كلفة اليد العاملة ووفرة المياه والقرب من المزروعات. ويشكّل إنتاج زجاجات النبيذ بسعة 75 سنتيلترً نسبة 74% من إجمالي إنتاج النبيذ اللبناني، أي ما يساوي 10.500.000 زجاجة في العام [5]. وقد نجحت مصانع نبيذ عدة في إنشاء تكامل عمودي مع الكروم وأقبية النبيذ وشركات التوزيع سواء محليًّا أو مع الخارج.
  • السياحة البيئية: إن المشهد الطبيعي وأراضي عميق الرطبة التي تشكل مسارًا مهمًّا لهجرة الطيور والحياة البرية تعزز من إمكانية تطوير السياحة البيئية. أما الوجهات السياحية الرئيسية في المنطقة فهي بلدة زحلة ومشغرة ونيحا وعنجر وقب الياس وكفرزبد وشتورا وفرزل.

 


[1] وزارة الزراعة، 2010. البيانات الأخيرة المتوفرة
[2]
 شركات يعمل فيها أكثر من 8 موظفين – دليل الصادرات والمؤسسات الصناعية اللبنانية للعام 2015-2016
[3]
 شركات يعمل فيها أكثر من 8 موظفين – دليل الصادرات والمؤسسات الصناعية اللبنانية للعام 2015-2016
[4]
 شركات يعمل فيها أكثر من 8 موظفين – دليل الصادرات والمؤسسات الصناعية اللبنانية للعام 2015-2016
[5]
صناعة النبيذ في سهل البقاع، تصنيع الأغذية في لبنان كأساس لديناميكيات المجتمع والتنمية المحلية والاجتماعية – الاقتصادية، 2013

اتصل بنا

بناية اللعازرية، الطابق الرابع، شارع الأمير بشير، رياض الصلح
صندوق بريد: 113-7251
بيروت، لبنان

هاتف
+961 1 983306
الفاكس
+961 1 983302
البريد الإلكتروني
invest@idal.com.lb export@idal.com.lb