I want to
apply for IDAL’s incentives
know if I qualify for IDAL’s incentives
know what are the steps to open a business
know what are the licenses and permits needed to open a business
know more about Investment Opportunities in Lebanon
operate in Lebanon
export from Lebanon
access Global ICT Bids
Foreign Investment Structure

Lebanon’s legal framework and investor-friendly public policies have played an important role in maintaining investors’ confidence in the local economy. Lebanon’s highly skilled multilingual and cost competitive labor force, in addition to the country’s liberal policies have been instrumental in keeping Lebanon on the radar of investors looking to serve the local and regional markets.

In 2015, despite regional imbalances challenging situation, around 44 foreign investment projects and foreign partnerships were announced, a number slightly higher than 2014 figures. 

European companies were the main investors in Lebanon, accounting for more than 48% of the foreign companies in 2015. The three main European countries are France with 9%, UK with 9% and Italy 4.5% of total foreign companies respectively. 

Arab investors’ share of foreign companies in Lebanon increased in 2015 to reach 32% from the total investors, with the UAE remaining the leader with 22.7% of total foreign companies, followed by Jordan with 4.5% of the total foreign investments in Lebanon. 

 

DISTRIBUTION OF FOREIGN COMPANIES BY COUNTRY OF ORIGIN (%share|2015) Distribution of Foreign Companies by Country of Origin (%share|2015)

Source: Ministry of Economy & Trade, ANIMA Investment Network, fDi Intelligence

 

In terms of distribution by sector, More than 68% of these investment projects were made in the Services, Trade / Retail, and Industry sectors. The Lebanese economy, traditionally service-driven has attracted around 34% of total direct foreign investments in the services sector in 2015 compared to 26% in 2014. More specifically 4companies operating in the financial sector opened either a branch or representative office in Lebanon. These investments reflects the confidence of foreign investors in the Lebanese financial sector that remains strong due to Central Bank policy of maintaining high foreign currency reserves that cover almost 80% of local currency money supplies, as well as stable prices and a favorable interest rates.

Moreover, 3 airlines companies opened Rep offices to accommodate for the growing number of Lebanese as well as the Syrian passengers located in Lebanon.

A trend worth noting is the increase in investments in the Information Technology (software development) accounting for around 7% of total foreign projects, a 2% increase from 2014 figures. 

 

DISTRIBUTION OF FOREIGN COMPANIES IN LEBANON BY SECTOR OF ACTIVITY (2015)Distribution of Foreign Companies in Lebanon by Sector of Activity (2015)

Source: Ministry of Economy & Trade, ANIMA Investment Network, fDi Intelligence


In addition to including the traditional components of FDI from equity capital to re-invested earnings UNCTAD specifies that real estate investments of a private, non-business nature covering recreational facilities, vacation homes and residences owned by non-residents for personal use or leased to others should, in principle, be included in foreign direct investment.

In Lebanon, the real estate sector has always been one of key attractive sector for foreigners. Despite the relative slowdown in the real estate market due to the internal and regional situation, prices remained stable. Arab investors have remained committed to maintaining businesses in Lebanon despite hard conditions prevailing in the country, with the real-estate sector in particular staying noticeably active.

According to statistics of the General Directorate of Real Estate Affairs, the value of real estate transactions by foreigners in 2015 reached around USD 546.13 million and distributed among 5 main districts.

Beirut grasped the lion share (49.16%) of total real estate acquisitions by foreigners in Lebanon. Arab nationals renowned for their consistent demand for luxurious spacious flats in Lebanon. Those apartments are usually above 220 square meters and are very well located mainly in Beirut.

 

DISTRIBUTION OF FOREIGN INVESTMENTS IN THE REAL ESTATE SECTOR IN LEBANON BY DISTRICT (2015)Distribution of Foreign Investments in the Real Estate Sector in Lebanon by District (2015)

Source: General Directorate of Real Estate Affairs


It is worth noting that the value of sales to foreigners, after two consecutive years of decline, has increased by 10.3% from 2014 levels.

 

 

EVOLUTION OF REAL ESTATE ACQUISITIONS BY FOREIGNERS IN LEBANON (million USD)Evolution of Real Estate Acquisitions by Foreigners in Lebanon (in Million USD)

Source: General Directorate of Real Estate Affairs


As for the distribution of the real estate acquisitions by foreign nationalities, Syrian has seized the largest portion of real estate acquisitions in 2015 (14.87%). The presence of Syrian in Lebanon (around 1.1Million registered refugees by UNHCR) explains this high share of acquisition. Saudi Arabia came second with 13.62% of total real estate acquisitions. 

 

DISTRIBUTION OF REAL ESTATE ACQUISITIONS BY FOREIGNERS IN LEBANON (%share|2015)

Distribution of Real Estate Acquisitions by Foreigners in Lebanon (%share|2015)

Source: General Directorate of Real Estate Affairs

Get in Touch
Lazarieh Tower, 4th Floor, Emir Bechir Street, Riad El-Solh Beirut, Lebanon, P.O.Box 113-7251
Phone
+961 1 983306 / 7 / 8
Fax
+961 1 983302 /3
Selected Foreign Companies in Lebanon
Useful Addresses

أريد أن
أتقدم بطلب من أجل الاستفادة من حوافز "ايدال"
اتأكد من أن مشروعي يوافي المعايير المطلوبة لنيل الحوافز
أعرف ما هي الخطوات التي يجب اتخاذها من أجل تأسيس مشروع
أعرف ما هي التراخيص والإجازات المطلوبة لتأسيس مشروع
أطلع على الفرص الاستثمارية المتوافرة في لبنان
التصدير من لبنان
لمحة عن لبنان
هيكلية الاستثمار الأجنبي

لعب الإطار القانوني والسياسات المشجعة على الاستثمار في لبنان دورا مهما في الحفاظ على ثقة المستثمر في الاقتصاد المحلي. وقد كانت للموارد البشرية المتخصصة والمتعددة اللغات ذات الكلفة التنافسية، بالإضافة إلى السياسات الليبرالية في البلاد، دورها الأساسي في تثبيت لبنان على خارطة الاستثمار وضمن اهتمامات المستثمرين الذين يتطلعون إلى تقديم خدماتهم للأسواق المحلية والإقليمية.

وخلال العام 2015، وعلى الرغم من حالة عدم الاستقرار الاقليمية، تم الإعلان عن 44 مشروعا استثماريا أجنبيا وشراكات أجنبية، وهو رقم يزيد بشكل طفيف عن الأرقام التي تم تسجيلها في العام 2014. وكانت الشركات الأوروبية المستثمر الأول في لبنان، إذ بلغت نسبتها 48 في المئة من مجموع الشركات الأجنبية في العام 2015. أما الدول الاوروبية الثلاثة الأبرز، فكانت: فرنسا بنسبة 9 في المئة، المملكة المتحدة بنسبة 9 في المئة ايضا، وايطاليا بنسبة 4,5 في المئة.

في المقابل، ارتفعت حصة المستثمرين العرب من الشركات الأجنبية في العام 2015 لتصل إلى 32 في المئة. وقد حافظت الإمارات على المركز الأول باستحواذها على 22,7 في المئة من إجمالي الشركات الأجنبية، تليها الأردن بنسبة 4.5 في المئة. 

 

توزيع الشركات الأجنبية المستثمرة في لبنان حسب بلد المنشأ (نسبة مئوية|2015)

DISTRIBUTION OF FOREIGN COMPANIES BY COUNTRY OF ORIGIN (%share|2015)

المصدر: وزارة الاقتصاد والتجارة، الفايننشل تايمز، شبكة fDi Intelligence، ANIMA

 

أما بالنسبة للتوزيع القطاعي لهذه الاستثمارات، فقد استقطبت قطاعات الخدمات، والتجارة / التجزئة والصناعة 68 في المئة من الاستثمارات الأجنبية. وقد استقطب الاقتصاد اللبناني، الذي اعتمد تقليديا على قطاع الخدمات، نسبة 34 في المئة من الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر إلى هذا القطاع في العام 2015 مقارنة مع نسبة 26 في المئة للعام 2014. وعلى وجه التحديد، افتتحت 4 شركات تعمل في القطاع المالي إما فرعا لها او مكتبا تمثيليا في لبنان. وعكست هذه الاستثمارات ثقة المستثمرين الأجانب بالقطاع المالي اللبناني الذي اثبت مناعته بفضل السياسة التي اتبعها المصرف المركزي في الحفاظ على احتياطي عال من العملات الأجنبية التي تغطي تقريبا 80 في المئة من الايرادات المالية بالعملة المحلية، فضلا عن الثبات في الأسعار ونسب الفائدة المحفزة.

هذا، وقد افتتحت 3 شركات طيران مكاتب تمثيلية لها لخدمة الأعداد المتنامية من الركاب اللبنانيين والسوريين الموجودين في لبنان.

تجدر الإشارة أيضا إلى أن هناك زيادة في الاستثمار في قطاع تكنولوجيا المعلومات (تطوير البرامج) الذي استحوذ على حوالي 7 في المئة من مجموع المشاريع الأجنبية، بزيادة 2 في المئة عن أرقام العام 2014. 

 

التوزيع القطاعي للشركات الأجنبية في لبنان (النسبة المئوية|2015)

DISTRIBUTION OF FOREIGN COMPANIES IN LEBANON BY SECTOR OF ACTIVITY (2015)

المصدر: وزارة الاقتصاد والتجارة، الفايننشل تايمز، شبكة fDi Intelligence، ANIMA

 

 

وبالإضافة إلى اشتمال المكونات التقليدية للاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر على رأس المال والأرباح التي سيعاد استثمارها، أكدت الأنكتاد أن الاستثمار في العقار ذات الطابع الخاص، وذات الطبيعة التي لا تتعلق بالأعمال التي تغطي المرافق الترفيهية، بيوت العطلات والمساكن المملوكة من قبل غير المقيمين للاستخدام الشخصي أو المؤجرة، يجب من حيث المبدأ، أن يتم إدراجها من ضمن الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر.
وفي لبنان، طالما شكل قطاع العقارات أحد القطاع الجذابة الرئيسية للأجانب. وعلى الرغم من التباطؤ النسبي في سوق العقارات بسبب الوضع الداخلي والإقليمي، ظلت الأسعار مستقرة. وقد بقي المستثمرون العرب ملتزمون بالحفاظ على الأعمال في لبنان على الرغم من الظروف الصعبة السائدة في البلد، مع حفاظ قطاع العقارات تحديدا على نشاطه بشكل ملحوظ.

 

ووفقا لإحصاءات المديرية العامة للشؤون المالية، بلغت قيمة العمليات العقارية التي أجراها الأجانب في العام 2015 حوالي 546.13 مليون دولار توزعت على الأقضية الخمسة الرئيسية.

 

وحازت بيروت على حصة الأسد (49.16 في المئة) من عمليات استحواذ الأجانب الإجمالية في لبنان. ومن المعلوم أن المواطنين العرب يطلبون الشقق الفاخرة في لبنان التي تفوق مساحتها 220 مترا مربعا وهي تقع في بيروت بشكل أساسي.

 

توزيع الاستثمارات العقارية الأجنبية في لبنان بحسب القضاء (2015)DISTRIBUTION OF FOREIGN INVESTMENTS IN THE REAL ESTATE SECTOR IN LEBANON BY DISTRICT (2015)

المصدر: المديرية العامة للشؤون العقارية

 

الجدير بالذكر ان قيمة العقارات المباعة إلى الأجانب، وبعد سنتين متتاليتين من التراجع، زادت بنسبة 10,3 في المئة مقارنة بأرقام العام 2014.

 

تطور عمليات شراء العقارات من قبل الأجانب في لبنان (مليون دولار)

EVOLUTION OF REAL ESTATE ACQUISITIONS BY FOREIGNERS IN LEBANON (million USD)

المصدر: المديرية العامة للشؤون العقارية

 

أما بالنسبة إلى توزيع عمليات الشراء العقارية بحسب الجنسيات، فقد حاز السوريون على الحصة الأكبر في العام 2015 (14.87 في المئة). إن النزوح السوري إلى لبنان (حوال 1.1 مليون نازح مسجلين في مفوضية الأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين) يعلل هذه النسبة العالية من عمليات الشراء. وتحتل السعودية المرتبة الثانية بنسبة  13.62 من مجموع عمليات الشراء.

 

توزيع عمليات الشراء العقارية من قبل الأجانب في لبنان (النسبة المئوية|2015) DISTRIBUTION OF REAL ESTATE ACQUISITIONS BY FOREIGNERS IN LEBANON (%share|2015)

 المصدر: المديرية العامة للشؤون العقارية

اتصل بنا

بناية اللعازرية، الطابق الرابع، شارع الأمير بشير، رياض الصلح
صندوق بريد: 113-7251
بيروت، لبنان

هاتف
+961 1 983306
الفاكس
+961 1 983302
البريد الإلكتروني
invest@idal.com.lb export@idal.com.lb