I want to
apply for IDAL’s incentives
know if I qualify for IDAL’s incentives
request IDAL’s support through the BSU
know if I qualify for the BSU Support
to know what are the BSU services
know what are the steps to open a business
know what are the licenses and permits needed to open a business
know more about Investment Opportunities in Lebanon
operate in Lebanon
export from Lebanon
access Global ICT Bids
International Agreements

Lebanon is a founding member of the United Nations and the League of Arab States since 1945 and is a member of all international organizations under the auspice of the United Nations (UNESCO, FAO, UNCTAD…), the World Bank and its affiliates, the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the International Development Association.

 

Lebanon maintains diplomatic relations with 147 countries and has 95 diplomatic and consular missions abroad, hosts 141 diplomatic missions including the diplomatic missions of the EU and the Arab League.

 

Lebanon also hosts a number of international organizations such as the United Nations Regional Office for Education, Science and Culture in the Arab Countries (UNESCO), the United Nations High Comission for Refugees (UNHCR), the Food and Agriculture Office of the United Nations (FAO), the World Health Organization (WHO), the United Nations Fund for Childhood, The United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), the UNDP and many others. The Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA) relocated its headquarters to Beirut in October 1997 and the World Bank opened an office in Beirut in January 2000.

 

In 2009, the General Assembly of the United Nations elected Lebanon to serve as a nonpermanent member of the Security Council for a two‐year term starting January 1, 2010.

 

TRADE AND INVESTMENT AGREEMENTS


Lebanon has a long tradition of openness to the international community, with close ties to the Arab world, Europe and America. 

 

The Government is implementing a comprehensive strategy for trade liberalization through the ratification of various trade agreements with major trade partners in order to integrate Lebanon further into the global economy.

 

  • The Euro-Mediterranean Partnership Agreement (EMP): The agreement was signed in 2002 while the interim agreement came into force in 2003 and the final agreement in 2006. The Agreement has put in place the necessary conditions for progressive and reciprocal liberalization of trade in goods with a view to establishing a bilateral free trade area including relevant provisions on customs cooperation, competition, protection of intellectual, industrial and commercial property, and services. The EU and Lebanon finalized a review of the EMP in November 2015. Lebanon signed the Convention on Pan-Euro-Mediterranean Preferential Rules of Origin in October 2014, which parliament ratified in February 2017.
  • Free Trade Agreement with the European Free Trade Association(EFTA): In June 2004, a free trade agreement between the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and Lebanon was signed which grants Lebanese industrial exports (including fish and other marine products, as well as processed agricultural products) free access to the following EU markets: Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Iceland.
  • Greater Arab Free Trade Area (GAFTA): Since 2005, as a member of the Greater Arab Free Trade Area (GAFTA), Lebanon receives full exemption from tariffs on all agricultural and industrial goods traded between the seventeen Arab member countries.
  • Lebanon-US Trade and Investment Framework Agreement (TIFA): In 2006, Lebanon and the US signed an agreement where they pledged to foster an environment conducive to mutual trade and investment. The TIFA requires both parties to set up a United States-Lebanon Council on Trade and Investment that would meet twice a year or more to consult on trade and investment impediments and other issues of concern. However, this council has not yet been set up.
  • Lebanon-Turkey Association Agreement: In 2010, Lebanon signed an association agreement to establish a free trade area and reduce barriers to the free movement of goods, services, capital, and people between Lebanon, Turkey, Syria and Jordan over the subsequent ten years. However, this agreement was put on hold following the Syrian crisis that started in 2011.

 

Lebanon is also an observer in the World Trade Organization (WTO) since 1999. In 2001, the Government submitted to the WTO the Memorandum of Foreign Trade Regime as a second step toward its accession. In October 2002, the Government entered into negotiations with the WTO for full membership and has provided replies to queries presented by member states. To date, seven Working Party meetings have taken place in Geneva, the most recent of which was in October 2009 in which the Working Party reviewed the Lebanon’s responses to the issues raised by member states. Various legalization reforms are in the pipeline (such as the draft law on competition, draft law on the intellectual property…) that are expected to accelerate the process of Lebanon’ accession to the WTO.

 

BILATERAL INVESTMENT TREATIES

 

Lebanon has signed so far fifty four bilateral Agreements for the Promotion and Protection of Investments with 54 other countries to provide foreign investors with a legal framework whereby the most favorable setting is established. The treaties provide a fair and equitable treatment on a non-discriminatory basis, and a full protection and security of foreign investments in both countries.

 

DOUBLE TAXATION AGREEMENTS


To facilitate trading across borders and foster international business development, Lebanon has signed tax conventions with 32 countries. These conventions promote the exchange of goods and services, the inflow of capital, and technology by avoiding double taxation, on one hand, and the prevention of fiscal evasion through administrative assistance between the contracting parties on the other.

Get in Touch
Lazarieh Tower, 4th Floor, Emir Bechir Street, Riad El-Solh Beirut, Lebanon, P.O.Box 113-7251
Phone
+961 1 983306
Fax
+961 1 983302
Investment Protection Agreements
DOUBLE TAXATION TREATIES
Useful Addresses

أريد أن
أتقدم بطلب من أجل الاستفادة من حوافز "ايدال"
اتأكد من أن مشروعي يوافي المعايير المطلوبة لنيل الحوافز
أعرف ما هي الخطوات التي يجب اتخاذها من أجل تأسيس مشروع
أعرف ما هي التراخيص والإجازات المطلوبة لتأسيس مشروع
أطلع على الفرص الاستثمارية المتوافرة في لبنان
التصدير من لبنان
العمل في لبنان
الاتفاقيات الدولية

لبنان هو عضو مؤسس للأمم المتحدة وجامعة الدول العربية منذ العام 1945 وهو عضو في كافة المنظمات الدولية التي تنضوي تحت مظلة الأمم المتحدة (منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة / اليونسكو، ومنظمة الأغذية والزراعة للأمم المتحدة / الفاو، ومؤتمر الأمم المتحدة للتجارة والتنمية / الأنكتاد) والبنك الدولي والمؤسسات التابعة له وصندوق النقد الدولي والمؤسسة الإنمائية الدولية.

 

يُقيم لبنان علاقات دبلوماسية مع 147 بلدًا ولديه 95 بعثة دبلوماسية وقنصلية في الخارج، كما يستضيف 141 بعثة دبلوماسية، بما في ذلك البعثات الدبلوماسية التابعة للاتحاد الأوروبي وجامعة الدول العربية.

 

ويستضيف لبنان عددًا من المنظمات الدولية، مثل اليونيسكو والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين ومنظمة الأغذية والزراعة للأمم المتحدة ومنظمة الصحة العالمية ومنظمة الأمم المتحدة للطفولة ومنظمة الأمم المتحدة للتنمية الصناعية وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي والعديد من المنظمات الأخرى. وقد نقلت لجنة الأمم المتحدة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لغرب آسيا مقرها إلى بيروت في تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر 1997، كما فتح البنك الدولي مكتبًا له في بيروت في كانون الثاني/ يناير 2000.

في العام 2009، قامت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة بانتخاب لبنان عضوًا غير دائم في مجلس الأمن لفترة عامين ابتداءً من 1 كانون الثاني/ يناير من العام 2010.

 

الاتفاقات التجارية والاستثمارية


لطالما تميز لبنان بتاريخ عريق من الانفتاح على المجتمع الدولي والعلاقات الوثيقة بالعالم العربي وأوروبا وأميركا.

 

اعتمدت الحكومة سياسات تحرير التجارة كجزء من استراتيجيته الاقتصادية الشاملة ليتمكّن بالتالي من الاندماج أكثر مع الاقتصاد العالمي. وفي هذا الإطار، وقّع على اتفاقيات تجارية متنوعة مع شركاء تجاريين رئيسيين.

 

  • مبادرة الشراكة الأورومتوسطية: تم التوقيع على هذه الاتفاقية في العام 2002 فيما دخلت الاتفاقية المؤقتة حيّز التنفيذ في العام 2003 والاتفاقية النهائية في العام 2006. وقد لحظت الاتفاقية البنود الضرورية للرفع التدريجي للقيود على المبادلات التجارية في ما يتعلق بالسلع وبطريقة متبادلة بهدف إقامة منطقة تجارة حرة ثنائية، مع التركيز على البنود المتعلقة بالتعاون الجمركي والمنافسة وحماية الملكية الفكرية والصناعية والتجارية والخدمات. وقد انتهى الاتحاد الأوروبي ولبنان من مراجعة مبادرة الشراكة الأورومتوسطية في تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر 2015. ووقع لبنان على المعاهدة الإقليمية لقواعد المنشأ التفضيلية للمنطقة الأورومتوسطية في تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر 2014 التي صدّقها البرلمان في شباط/ فبراير 2017.
  • اتفاقية التجارة الحرة مع المنظمة الأوروبية للتجارة الحرة (افتا): في حزيران/يونيو 2004، تمّ التوقيع على اتفاقية التجارة الحرة بين المنظمة الأوروبية للتجارة الحرة (افتا) ولبنان، وهي تؤمّن دخولاً حرًّا للصادرات الصناعية اللبنانية (بما فيها الأسماك والمنتجات البحرية الأخرى إضافةً إلى المنتجات الزراعية المصنّعة) إلى أسواق الاتحاد الأوروبي والتي تشمل سويسرا وليشتنشتاين والنرويج وإيسلندا.
  • عضو في منطقة التجارة العربية الحرة الكبرى (غافتا): منذ العام 2005، يستفيد لبنان من إعفاء كلّي من الرسوم الجمركية على كل السلع الزراعية والصناعية المتبادلة بين البلدان العربية الأعضاء الـ 17، بصفته عضواً في منطقة التجارة العربية الحرة الكبرى (غافتا).
  • الاتفاقية الإطارية للتجارة والاستثمار بين لبنان والولايات المتحدة (تيفا): في العام 2006، وقّع كل من لبنان والولايات المتحدة اتفاقية تعهدا بموجبها تعزيز بيئة مؤاتية للتبادل التجاري والاستثمار. وتتطلب هذه الاتفاقية من الطرفين تشكيل مجلس للتجارة والاستثمار بين لبنان والولايات المتحدة يجتمع مرتين في السنة أو أكثر للتشاور بشأن المعوقات التي تعترض التجارة والاستثمار وغيرها من المسائل الهامة. إلا أن هذا المجلس لم يبصر النور حتى الآن.
  • اتفاقية الشراكة بين لبنان وتركيا: في العام 2010، وقّع لبنان اتفاقية شراكة لإنشاء منطقة تجارة حرة وتخفيف العوائق التي تعترض حرية تنقل السلع والخدمات ورأس المال والأشخاص بين لبنان وتركيا وسوريا والأردن خلال السنوات العشرة اللاحقة. إلا أن هذه الاتفاقية تم تعليقها بعد الأزمة السورية التي بدأت في العام 2011.

 

منذ العام 1999، يعمل لبنان أيضًا بصفته مراقبًا في منظمة التجارة العالمية . وفي العام 2001، قدّمت الحكومة لمنظمة التجارة العالمية مذكرة نظام التجارة الخارجية كخطوة ثانية باتجاه انضمامها إلى المنظمة. في تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر 2002، دخلت الحكومة في مفاوضات مع منظمة التجارة العالمية بشأن عضوية لبنان الكاملة فيها وقدمت أجوبة على أسئلة طرحتها الدول الأعضاء. وحتى تاريخه، عُقدت سبعة اجتماعات لفريق العمل في جنيف، آخرها كان في تشرين الأول 2009 عندما راجع فريق العمل إجابات لبنان على المسائل المطروحة من قبل الدول الأعضاء. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن عددًا من الإصلاحات القانونية ما زالت قيد الإنجاز (مثل مسودة قانون حول المنافسة ومسودة قانون حول الملكية الفكرية، إلخ.) والتي من المتوقع أن تسرّع عملية انضمام لبنان إلى منظمة التجارة العالمية.

 

الاتفاقيات الاستثمارية الثنائية

 

وقّع لبنان حتى الآن 54 اتفاقية ثنائية لترويج الاستثمارات وحمايتها مع 50 بلدًا، مما يؤمن إطارًا قانونيًّا للمستثمرين الأجانب يضمن سياقاً مؤاتيًا جدًّا بين لبنان والشركاء المتعاقدين الـ54. وبموجب المعاهدات يكون إطار التعامل عادلاً ومنصفًا على أساس عدم التمييز، وتحظى الاستثمارات الأجنبية بالحماية والضمانة الكاملتين في كلا البلدين.

 

تفادي الازدواج الضريبي

 

وقّع لبنان 34 اتفاقية لمنع الازدواج الضريبي مع 32 بلدًا من أجل تسهيل التبادل التجاري عبر الحدود وتعزيز النشاط التجاري الدولي. وتشجّع هذه الاتفاقيات تبادل السلع والخدمات وتدفّق رؤوس الأموال والتكنولوجيا من خلال تفادي الازدواج الضريبي من جهة، وتجنّب التهرّب من دفع الضرائب عبر المساعدة الإدارية بين الطرفين المتعاقدين من جهة أخرى.

اتصل بنا

بناية اللعازرية، الطابق الرابع، شارع الأمير بشير، رياض الصلح
صندوق بريد: 113-7251
بيروت، لبنان

هاتف
+961 1 983306
الفاكس
+961 1 983302
البريد الإلكتروني
invest@idal.com.lb export@idal.com.lb