I want to
apply for IDAL’s incentives
know if I qualify for IDAL’s incentives
request IDAL’s support through the BSU
know if I qualify for the BSU Support
to know what are the BSU services
know what are the steps to open a business
know what are the licenses and permits needed to open a business
know more about Investment Opportunities in Lebanon
operate in Lebanon
export from Lebanon
access Global ICT Bids
home › Doing Business ›
Infrastructure and Logistics

 

After the end of the civil war in 1990, Lebanon embarked on an ambitious infrastructure development program to rehabilitate its physical infrastructure and enhance the provision of public services. This saw Lebanon’s gross fixed capital formation grow to reach its peak of 37% of GDP in 1994 (see graph below). However in 2006, there was extensive destruction valued at 9.4 billion dollars, of which 3.5 billion dollars specifically to infrastructure due to the month-long war with Israel (IMF, 2017). The Government of Lebanon re-initiated a public expenditure program albeit much smaller than the one after the civil war.

 

As of 2011, the Infrastructure of Lebanon was once again under pressure after the influx of around 1.5 million refugees from neighboring Syria due to the regional conflict. In response to the Syrian crisis, the Government of Lebanon through the Council of Reconstruction and Development (the Government arm responsible of infrastructure investment projects) developed in 2017, a 23 billion dollars Capital Investment Program expected to be completed in three cycles of a four-year period each to stimulate economic growth and create jobs in the country (see table below). This was complemented by the ratification of a PPP law to help finance the major upcoming projects in the capital-intensive sectors such as water, energy and transportation.

 

These recent developments are expected to transform Lebanon’s economy to become more competitive globally and move the country’s position in ease of doing business by creating a more enabling environment for the growth of businesses and jobs.

 

LEBANON'S GROSS FIXED CAPITAL FORMATION AS % OF GDP (% Share|2017)

 LEBANON'S GROSS FIXED CAPITAL FORMATION AS % OF GDP (2017)

Note: High growth in infrastructure spending after the Lebanese Civil War

Source: World Bank

 

CAPITAL INVESTMENT PROGRAM (USD Million|2017)

 

Cycle 1

Cycle 2

Cycle 3

Transportation

2,863 2,820 1,698

Water and Irrigation

2,257

878  1,710 

Electricity

2,251

1,441 2,000

Solid Waste Management

1,400

- -

Wastewater

1,364

1,040 278

Telecommunication

700

- -

Cultural Heritage

84

180 -

Support to Industry

-

75 -

Source: Byblos Bank Research 2018

Get in Touch
Lazarieh Tower, 4th Floor, Emir Bechir Street, Riad El-Solh Beirut, Lebanon, P.O.Box 113-7251
Phone
+961 1 983306
Fax
+961 1 983302
ENERGY AND WATER IN LEBANON
TELECOMMUNICATIONS IN LEBANON
TRANSPORTATION IN LEBANON

أريد أن
أتقدم بطلب من أجل الاستفادة من حوافز "ايدال"
اتأكد من أن مشروعي يوافي المعايير المطلوبة لنيل الحوافز
أعرف ما هي الخطوات التي يجب اتخاذها من أجل تأسيس مشروع
أعرف ما هي التراخيص والإجازات المطلوبة لتأسيس مشروع
أطلع على الفرص الاستثمارية المتوافرة في لبنان
التصدير من لبنان
الرئيسية › العمل في لبنان ›
البنى التحتية واللوجستيات

إثر انتهاء الحرب في العام 1990، شرع لبنان بتنفيذ برنامج طموح لتطوير البنى التحتية وإعادة تأهيلها وتحسين عملية توفير الخدمات العامة. وقد شهد لبنان نموًّا في إجمالي تكوين رأس المال الثابت ليصل إلى ذروته فيشكّل 37% من إجمالي الناتج المحلي في العام 1994 (انظر الرسم البياني أدناه). أما في العام 2006، فقد أدت الحرب التي دامت شهرًا مع إسرائيل إلى تدمير واسع النطاق قُدِّر بـ9.4 مليار دولار، مُصيبًا البنى التحتية بخسائر قُدّرت بـ 3.5 مليار دولار (بحسب صندوق النقد الدولي، 2017).

 

اعتبارًا من العام 2011، تعرّضت البنية التحتية في لبنان مرة أخرى للضغط بعد تدفق حوالى 1.5 مليون لاجئ من سوريا نتيجة النزاع الإقليمي. وفي تعاملها مع الأزمة السورية، وضعت الحكومة اللبنانية في العام 2017، من خلال مجلس الإنماء والإعمار (ذراع الحكومة المسؤول عن مشاريع الاستثمار في البنى التحتية)، برنامجًا استثماريًّا رأسماليًّا بقيمة 23 مليار دولار يُتوقع إنجازه على ثلاث مراحل مدة كل منها 4 سنوات. ويهدف هذا البرنامج إلى تعزيز النمو الاقتصادي وخلق فرص عمل في البلاد (انظر الجدول أدناه). وقد استُكمل هذا البرنامج بإقرار قانون الشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص من أجل المساعدة على تمويل المشاريع الكبرى الناشئة في القطاعات التي تتطلب رأسمال كبير، على غرار المياه والطاقة والنقل.

ومن المتوقع أن تؤدي هذه التطورات الأخيرة إلى تغيير وجه لبنان الاقتصادي ليصبح أكثر قدرةً على المنافسة عالميًّا وتحسين مكانة البلد من حيث سهولة ممارسة الأعمال، وذلك من خلال خلق بيئة مؤاتية أكثر لنمو المشاريع وفرص العمل.

 

إجمالي تكوين رأس المال الثابت في لبنان بالنسبة إلى إجمالي الناتج المحلي (حصة%|2017)

 LEBANON'S GROSS FIXED CAPITAL FORMATION AS % OF GDP (% Share|2017)

 ملاحظة: زيادة كبيرة في الإنفاق على البنى التحتية بعد الحرب الأهلية في لبنان

المصدر: البنك الدولي

 

برنامج الإنفاق الاستثماري (مليون دولار|2017)


 

الدورة الأولى

الدورة الثانية

الدورة الثالثة

النقل

2,863

2,820

1,698

المياه والري

2,257

878

1,710

الكهرباء

2,251

1,441

2,000

إدارة النفايات الصلبة

1,400

-

-

مياه الصرف

1,364

1,040

278

الاتصالات

700

-

-

التراث الحضاري

84

180

-

الدعم للقطاع

-

75

-

المصدر: مركز أبحاث "بنك بيبلوس" للعام 2018

اتصل بنا

بناية اللعازرية، الطابق الرابع، شارع الأمير بشير، رياض الصلح
صندوق بريد: 113-7251
بيروت، لبنان

هاتف
+961 1 983306
الفاكس
+961 1 983302
البريد الإلكتروني
invest@idal.com.lb export@idal.com.lb